Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize nominees announced

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The prize will be awarded at the Politics and the Pen Gala on March 10 in Ottawa. The five finalists are:
John English, Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, 1968–2000 (Knopf Canada)
Terry Gould, Murder Without Borders: Dying for the Story in the World’s Most Dangerous Places (Random House Canada)
Rudyard Griffiths, Who We Are: A Citizen’s Manifesto (Douglas & McIntyre)
James Maskalyk, Six Months in Sudan: A Young Doctor in a War-torn Village (Doubleday Canada)
Daniel Poliquin, René Lévesque (Penguin Canada)

The jury consists of author and journalist Andrew Nikiforuk, previous prize-winner Erna Paris, and Maclean’s foreign correspondent Michael Petrou. Finalists each receive $2,500.

No comments: